In which I take my show on the road!

Today was the Honors Convocation/luncheon/what have you at my school. All semester I’ve been working on this project for my Honors Ethics class. I narrowed my theme down to Exploitation of Fat Bodies in Media.

I think my presentation went really well. My board was a little messy, but that’s okay. I had some really intriguing discussions with peers and professors, and the most common comment seemed to be ‘wow, this is something I wasn’t aware of/never thought of’!’ I got to hand out my brand spankin’ new business cards and I think I really got people to think about the representation of fat bodies in mass media. Even if I couldn’t say everything I wanted to say in short 5-10 minute conversations, I think the most important thing you can possibly do when you feel passionately about something is to even plant that first seed of an idea in someone’s head. That way, the next time they see a fat body on tv or in an ad, they’ll think back to my trifold board and really start to question how said body is represented. And if they have any critical thinking skills, they’ll start to see it more and more every day.

I’m super exhausted because I worked 11-7 last night and only got an hour and a half nap in this morning. And I’m really struggling to get all my final papers and projects in (one out of three done so far!) But I was really proud of how today turned out, so here you go. A picture of me looking totally babein’!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to In which I take my show on the road!

  1. George says:

    Hi Amber, I want to challenge you. I think that only fat people and or delusional people feel that being fat and or obese is acceptable, sexy, and healthy. Being grossly overweight is not healthy, natural or flattering in any sense. If I were a media giant or an advertiser, I certainly wouldn’t want a fat person representing my product because, in reality, fat has a negative connotation. Fat doesn’t sell. As an employer, I wouldn’t hire an obese person because obesity entails laziness, lack of discipline, and irresponsibility.

    Also, if there are literally millions of people in this world dieing of hunger, how can anyone advocate for obesity knowing this? I liken what you’re doing in this blog to a drug user supporting and advocating for the use of drugs. Misery loves company. I don’t see how you can blame the media for being honest and reflecting reality. Eating too much or subscribing to a poor diet is a terrible example to send to children too.

    The reality is, fat and obese people have a much higher rate and risk of
    +Heart disease
    +Heat attack
    +Cancer
    +Diabetes
    +Stroke
    +Asthma
    +Gallbladder disease
    +Depression
    +Unemployment – disability

    The list goes on, so I challenge you to be honest with yourself and reply to this response. I hope you can understand the difference between reality and ignorance.

  2. Nikki says:

    George,

    You’re missing the point of this entire blog.
    The point is not that being fat is necessarily healthy, responsible, or a good example to young children. The point is that it’s not necessarily unhealthy, irresponsible, or a bad example to young children and that young kids who are exposed to the media, seeing the ads for raising awareness of obesity affects them greatly; within their self-esteem especially [they are bullied enough], but also with their future eating and exercising habits. That could potentially push them to have an eating disorder, or eating even more for comfort. Also, have you been exposed to poor parts of this country? Some people are really struggling to make ends meet and truly cannot afford healthy foods. Do you know of anyone who has a disorder where they cannot help it that they are obese? I do. He is one of the most outgoing people I know, at least while not surrounded by people who will judge his health and his being simply by the knowledge that he is fat.

    It’s very unprofessional and narrow minded of you to stick with your stubborn opinion without exploring further in depth the other side. Your discussion is the perfect example of the misunderstandings people have about fat/obese people.

    Nikki

Comments are closed.