Our Big Fat Guts (via Dances With Fat)

There are so many things I want to say, but then I read Dances with Fat and she just puts it SO much better than I ever could. I rather dislike that she didn’t seem to include fats who don’t participate in HAES, but I’m willing to overlook that for the general message.

Our Big Fat Guts I was picked up on a "fat hate' board again and somebody said, for the millionth time, that Health at Every Size (r) is just "taking the easy way out…"  Dude, are you serious? Does anybody remember the movie The Truman Show?  Where a guy finds out that his entire life has been a TV show and that everyone except him knew it? In the show he leads a fairly ordinary life but what if the script different?  What if, from the time he was born, the wor … Read More

via Dances With Fat

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Our Big Fat Guts (via Dances With Fat)

  1. Hi, thank you so much for the kind words! I totally understand what you mean about not including fats who don’t participate in HAES. I was actually worried that I hadn’t done a good enough job of that – I was trying to balance the fact that I was specifically attacked for my HAES practice, and I meant to cover other approaches when I said “it’s not the only valid choice and it’s not better or worse than anyone else’s choice” but I can see where it may not have been clear. Anyway, thank you for the repost 🙂

    • Adipose Activist says:

      I just had a fangirl moment that you commented on my blog. I’m not worthy! Haha.

      In all seriousness, though, I’ve read your blog long enough to know that you advocate size acceptance for all bodies regardless of health status or eating/exercise habits. I know that you’re an active participant in HAES but you’ve said on multiple occasions that fats shouldn’t have to justify being fat with healthy habits (good fat/bad fat dichotomy). I also know from personal experience that the one time you DON’T use the disclaimer that you’re all-encompassing is the one time that people will jump on you for it!

      For real, you’re one of my biggest resources when it comes to me arguing with fat haters on the internet, I’ve got so so so much respect for you! Thank you so much for all that you do!

      Amber

Comments are closed.